Events connect people

Events connect people

When I was initially figuring out the best way to build technology that would connect people to be active together, I asked a bunch of questions to many different people.

I heard repeatedly that people want to connect with others at group events. Even someone looking to connect with another individual (for dating purposes or a personal friendship), would almost always prefer that connection to happen at an event.

One conversation with the late David April revealed that his run group, the Fishtown Beer Runners, had already produced more than 12 marriages and at least 10 babies. Another time, while lying in bed with COVID, I spoke to Joe from New Jersey who had met all of his best friends at bike rides.

These conversations made it clear that run events were about more than just the memorable experience - they created a space that allowed people to connect in a truly unique way.

Now, I get to see how community races connect people every weekend. There are high fives at the start, hugs at the finish and engaging conversations throughout - clear displays of how these events bring people together.

Thanks for everything that you do to create events that connect your community.

— Ian

ICYMI: 5k budget for your community

I wrote about my time as an investment banking analyst in this post.

Create a professional looking budget to impress your race committee. Click here to send me a note and I will share an excel model to budget your race.

Community Race Budget Template

Tech Update: Typing birthdates

  • This probably sounds boring

  • This is not sexy

  • We typically release minor updates like this quietly

  • BUT BUT BUT:

    • I’ve received so many calls from runners who don’t like navigating the calendar to select birthdate that I’m too excited not to share this.

  • Now, instead of requiring runners to select birthdates from the calendar, a participant can type the digits directly into the field.

  • Two fun facts:

    • Yes, 02/26/1993 is my actual birthday. I am a pisces.

    • Since 2003, the average age of all Run The Day finishers is 34 years old.

Type birthdate when registering

Fast and smooth registration

@goruntheday

Thanks to everyone involved in making the 2024 APC Summer Soaker a massive success! #5k #community #runtheday

Ian Campbell

Ian Campbell

Keeping communities united.