Dogfooding

Dogfooding

Last Saturday I ran my first timed 5k of 2024. I wore VKTRY insoles courtesy of the Rundown Newsletter’s new sponsor and registered 20 minutes before the start of the race. Registering only took a few seconds (thank you Apple Pay!) then I checked-in with Lauren (pictured below) who gave me a t-shirt and assigned me a bib number (thank you Lauren!). After that, I was off to the races.

Spina Bifida 5k Registration Check-In

Using our product, or dogfooding as the tech world calls it, is something that I believe in. It provides firsthand experience, allows us to identify issues and builds our internal confidence in the Run The Day platform. If you are curious where the term dogfooding came from (like I was), it started in the 1970s when a television salesman told viewers that the dog food being advertised was the same that he fed to his dog.

Running the 5k was about more than just dogfooding our product. After all, I could just register for a race at home. In fact, I’ve done this many times and have even developed a strange habit of registering for upcoming races when I am bored. If you are considering making fun of me for this, you can save the effort - I already know that this is a lame way to entertain myself.

Eating our own dogfood was about the entire race experience. It was a reminder of the feelings that go through a runner’s mind on race day. From the anticipation of waking up in the morning and checking the weather, to the discomfort of running the race, to the accomplishment of crossing the finish line.

Above all else, it was a good reminder that while the technology that we are building is cool, we must not lose sight of it’s true purpose. It must impact a greater mission. For us, that means our technology must help to keep communities united.

By dogfooding, I was reminded of Run The Day’s responsibility to make race day a positive experience, so these traditions continue bringing people together in the future. That way, we keep our communities united.

— Ian

ICYMI: Race Spotlight on Trapp Cabin Trail Races

Cynthia handing out awards at Trapp Cabin Trail Races

Tech Update: Photos

  • Grow your race by emailing photos

  • Get your race shared on social media

  • Make it easy for runners to remember your event

  • Increase visibility for your race and sponsors

  • And more!

Available later this month.

Upload and view photos directly on Run The Day

Thank You Kettle Cooker Five & Dime!

Tracy and Tim at Kettle Cooker Five & Dime

NSFW: A Photo Finish 😂

@goruntheday

When the competition gets REAL at the finish line! 🏃‍♀️ Watch as things get heated for these 2 runners during the final stretch of a 5K.🔥 ... See more

Ian Campbell

Ian Campbell

Keeping communities united.