Making races happy

Making races happy

When I was interviewing for jobs at the beginning of my career, I’d often be asked what drives me. I’d typically answer “I’ve been given a tremendous opportunity with my life, so I want to work hard not to waste it.” The response would typically resonate with the interviewer since they would almost always nod and move on to the next question. If my answer didn’t directly help me win job offers, it certainly didn’t hurt me from winning them. You can read about my first job as an investment banking analyst here.

The answer remains true to this day. I’ve been incredibly fortunate with my life. More people than I can list have invested considerable time, effort and energy so that I could learn and develop over the past 3 decades. Given all the investment in me, I hate to think that my life would result in wasted opportunity. Instead, I’d like for it to positively impact the world as much as possible.

Until recently, working hard to not waste my opportunity has been an abstract concept. I knew that I didn’t want to waste the opportunity, but besides working hard, I was not sure the best way for that to be done.

Now, when I see how races keep communities united, inspire people to remain active and provide memorable experiences, the impact of my work is tangible. Being able to support events that undoubtedly make the world a better place is a blessing.

As a result, when I hear that Run The Day has made a race happy, it makes me incredibly happy. I love learning that volunteers were approaching a race director to tell her how pleasant Run The Day was to work with, hearing that folks using our app were impressed with how easy it was or seeing Diane’s summary about working with us (read the race spotlight on Run Drugs Out of Town here).

It not only makes me happy, it makes me feel like I am not wasting my opportunity. The positive feedback reinforces that our hard work is useful to others while advancing our mission of uniting athletes and strengthening communities.

— Ian

Do It For Me Race Setup

If you or someone you know had previously used EnMotive, schedule time to learn how Run The Day can help your race in the future.

EnMotive race registration

EnMotive website sunsetting

3 industry articles

Registration for 129th Boston Marathon begins September 9th: READ HERE 

How runners race in their state vs. travel to other states: READ HERE 

5 Takeaways from Fleet Feet’s Running Report: READ HERE (#1 Women rule and #2 Walkers are catching up to runners)

Tech Update: Prior year results on registration page

Build community by allowing participants to view results from prior races directly on the registration page.

Display prior year results on your race page

83 year old assigning bibs

While Helen was assigning bibs she told me about her recent trip to Africa, which helped me plan my honeymoon. Thank you Helen!

@goruntheday

Thanks to 83 year old volunteer Helen for assigning bibs through the Run The Day mobile app! #5k #run #runtheday

Ian Campbell

Ian Campbell

Keeping communities united.